My aunt is my hero

Priscilla is 33 years old and lives in Imizamo Yethu, Hout Bay with her two sons, her aunt and uncle and her cousin. Kathrin is 38 years old, lives in Victorskloof, Hout Bay with her husband and three children.

What is your profession and what work do you do?

My profession is child-minder and housekeeper.

Did you learn that at school?

Yes I learned it at school, about two years. And, I like my job.🙂

What do you do in your free time?

I clean my house on Saturday, and Sunday I take my children to church, or sometimes we go to visit our friends, our family.

Is there something you would like to learn?

Yes, I wish to go to school to learn how to sew or do some other stuff, cooking.

Do you have a hero, somebody you admire?

Yes, my aunt. I grew up under the hands of my aunt, my mother was here in Cape Town. I went to school and my aunt supported me with everything. I was in Eastern Cape then. I came to Hout Bay in 1999. My sister was staying here, Portia,  we didn’t know each other very well. So then, she decided to take me to come here so that we can live together.

Are you saving money for something?

Yes, I do have something. We do something at Imizamo Yethu. Every month, we give 500 Rand to another one, we are six of us. Me, I’m going to get it at the end of May. I want to buy a bungalow. My house is too small for me and my kids, so I’m going to buy the bungalow and then I’m going to check some space there at Mandela Park (Imizamo Yethu). The bungalow costs about 3000 Rand, but I’m gonna get 2500 Rand , and I have to put 500 Rand in.

Will you still be living close to your relatives?

I have to go to another neighborhood.

Is the bungalow built of bricks?

The bungalow is made of zinc.

Do you have a dream?

Yes, I wish to get money for my children to go to the school when they finish their high school. I wish they could respect the elders and learn. Maybe one of them is going to be a doctor or one of them is going to be a teacher. The first one wants to be a teacher, their father used to be a teacher. He is still alive but he is not supporting us.

What do you think you will be doing in 10 years? Or in 40 years, when we are old?

I hope to go to other countries,  Zimbabwe or Malawi, to go and learn about the outside countries.

What is your favourite food?

My favorite food is meat and pap, and sometimes a Xhosa food, sourcream with pap. You cook the pap and then you take the sourcream and put it over the pap.

Do you have a favorite book?

I think Harry Potter’s book. I had it from the library.

Do you have a favorite movie?

My favorite movie is something for the kids, like „Madagascar“.

What music is your favorite?

Gospel. I was in a choir when I was young, but in Cape Town I didn’t go the the choirs.

And what TV-show?

Oprah.

What do you like about South Africa?

Hmmm.

What don’t you like about South Africa?

The bad thing about South Africa is corruption, and poverty and there are not many jobs. And we suffer too much. I like the weather, sometimes it’s hot, but I like the summer, and the views and landscape. But I don’t like South Africa that much.

What are your hopes for South Africa?

My hope for South Africa is to change the corruption, and what else? And the leaders, like the president, must do something for their people, so they can develop, so they can carry on.

Is there anything you would like to tell our Swiss friends and families?

I’d like to say to them that they must come to South Africa to learn some things. And they are going to enjoy it here in South Africa! Do you have a lot of black people there in your country?

Not very many, no. We have some black people that come as immigrants, but because Switzerland has no shores, most black people stay in other countries, they come to Europe by boat. But we do have black people!🙂 What do you think we should learn?

Living together, sharing some stuff, and learning some languages, yes.

Ndiyabulela, Priscilla!

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter People we meet abgelegt und mit , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Eine Antwort zu My aunt is my hero

  1. switzerlandrelo sagt:

    Ich mag die Passage „…they must come to SA to learn some things.“ Was wir lernen können ist z. B. Spontanität und die Tatsache, dass nicht alles immer voraussehbar ist. Was wir ebenfalls lernen könnten, ist, dass viele Leute auch ohne viel Hab und Gut einigermassen glücklich sein können.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

