All the resources we need

Priscilla is 50 years old and lives in Hout Bay with her three children Wesley (23),Bianca (21) and Matthew (18). Kathrin is 38 years old, lives in Victorskloof, Hout Bay with her husband and three children.

What is your profession and what work do you do? I am not a qualified professional. I own a coffee shop which I started 16 years ago.

Where were you trained? I have no formal training.

Is there something you would like to learn? I would like to study Theology.

What do you do in your free time? I have no free time.

Do you have a hero, a mentor or somebody you admire? Almost everyone I meet is in some way a mentor to me. I learn something from everyone.

Are you currently saving money for something? Personally I save a little for my retirement. Currently I spend every spare moment raising funds for an organisation that looks after people with physical and intellectual disabilities in Hout Bay (read more here). This organisation desperately needs to buy or lease a property from which to render their services to the disabled community.

Do you have a dream that cannot be bought by money?  My dream is to help people realize their full potential, find their inner strength and thereby build better relationships which will lead to happier, healthier families and ultimately better communities.

What do you think you will be doing in 10 years? What I’m doing now, only much better.

Where will you be when you are old? Hopefully still on planet earth.

What is your favourite food? Anything homemade, home-grown and natural.

Do you have a favourite book?   No , I liked all the books I’ve read so far.

Do you have a favourite movie?  I like movies based on true stories mostly.

What music is your favourite? Ballads, love songs, gospel, some jazz- music from 60’s, 70’s, 80’s

And what TV-show? Documentaries, some talk shows and general knowledge shows, like „Who wants to be a millionaire?“ and „The weakest link“ and I watch the news channel every day.

What do you like about South Africa? The fact that we have all the resources that we need. We have good climate and beautiful sea and sky.

What don’t you like about South Africa? We don’t manage our resources well.  Poverty is proof that management is bad.

What are your hopes for South Africa?  I hope that all people will be able to live with dignity.

Is there anything you would like to say to our Swiss friends and families?  I feel privileged and blessed to have a Swiss friend for the first time. I would love to know more about your way of life.

Dankie, Priscilla!

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter People we meet abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

