Homesick

When we stepped off the plane in Zürich two months ago, I was sure this blog had come to an end. How could I possibly top our kids’ travel diary? Evidently, I need some more of that writing experience.

Top of the FAQ-list back home in Switzerland is surely the kind inquiry if we have overcome our culture shock. I am glad to say we were never in shock. Large parts of the Cape Town society we knew are quite similar to Switzerland; and we are now enjoying the freedom we missed there at times. Some liberties Switzerland lacks spawn warm memories of South Africa – no surprises here. Since last week though, we are in a collective state of homesickness or Heimweh; adequately, we experience both the flavor of sickness as well as that of pain.

Of course we miss our friends, but that is not all there is to homesickness. First and foremost, I miss who we were in Cape Town and during our travels. A family of five, depending on each other. Five people thrown together, in a lifetime experience. Five humans who are the same, but different. I long for that feeling of togetherness, trust and significance everyday life just can’t provide every single day.

Ask me where I would go if I had that magic flying carpet? The Karoo. Most definitely the Karoo would heal my aching heart.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Etudes veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Eine Antwort zu Homesick

  1. schlupscoop sagt:

    Hi there,

    I really identify with your blog and I think it is a great thing to keep up. Writing is good for the soul somehow. It is amazing how a foreign place can capture parts of your heart and become a new home, isn’t it? I love how you described the family togetherness. What a wonderful thing!

    I hope you are all well,
    Kristi

    PS…I know you had chickens in SA and I think in Switzerland, too. Is that right? Philip and I want to get a few for our garden. Do have any advices or chicken newbies?

    >

Schreibe einen Kommentar

